Sunflowers & Rain

by PammyMcB

DJ and I went for a Sunday evening drive when we came upon a patch of sunflowers that was accessible from the road. I took my time exploring the beautiful flowers and photographing them.

Original Photography by
©Pamela N. Brown

Many of the flowers were being visited by guests in the form of bees, butterflies, and grasshoppers.

Original Photography by
©Pamela N. Brown

I found it interesting that each insect I found feasting on the patch of flowers were colored the same as the sunflowers.

Original Photography by
©Pamela N. Brown

The sky rumbled with thunder, and it began to lightly rain, so we headed down the road. I had hoped to catch lightening, but the lightening was sparse and was not centralized in one general area. As we continued on, I watched intently in the hopes of catching something to shoot. Soon, we found a freshly plowed field with a patch of wildflowers, grasses, and an antique tractor sitting in the middle. The rusty colors of the earth compliment the colors of the tractors.

Original Photography by
©Pamela N. Brown

The rain caught up with us once again, and we drove on to find something more to shoot. I was anxious to photograph the beams of sunlight breaking through the clouds. The red earth below contrasted greatly with the blue tones of the clouds.

Original Photography by
©Pamela N. Brown

