The Nurse

by PammyMcB

Damien and Dylan had to go into the doctor’s office the other day for their yearly thyroid profiles. Also, because of all the meds that Damien is presently on, he had to get a liver profile as well. Furthermore, we are approaching the time of year that Dylan has to get his biopsy, so he had additional tests as well.

While we were there, the nurse told me that every time she begins to think of how hard her life is with her children, she begins to think of my kids and me. She says she then decides that raising her kids just isn’t that hard. She told me, “I don’t know how you do it. It must be very hard and stressful on you having to deal with these problems on a day to day basis.” She also said, “You must be a very strong woman. I don’t think I would ever be able to go through half of what you have to.”

I smiled and told her, “When I was very young I thought I would never have kids and was told that on many different occasions. I am just so happy to have been blessed with my two sons, that the problems just don’t seem that big anymore. I don’t know what I would have ever done without them. It just takes a lot of sacrifices and patience to be able to go through this. I am glad that God has bestowed patience upon me. No matter how big or small the problems seem to come, I just take them all with stride, take a deep breath, and count my blessings. Then, I am able to face more.”

I am not by all means saying that it is not stressful to go through this on a daily basis, it is. I have just gotten to where I don’t let it bother me anymore. I know that the most I can do for my children is get the best help for them as possible, love them, and be here for them. I am not Super Woman, nor do I claim to be. I am just a mom doing the best that I can for my children.

