by PammyMcB

“And now I know it is perfectly natural for me not to look at someone when I talk. Those of us with Asperger’s are just not comfortable doing it. In fact, I don’t really understand why it’s considered normal to stare at someone’s eyeballs.”

~ John Elder Robison

This reminds me of a discussion I had with one of Damien’s teachers. My response to her was, “Well, do you want him to look you in the eye, or do you want him to listen to you?” I went on to have her talk to him without forcing him to look at her. When she was finished talking, I told him, “Now, tell me what your teacher said.” He repeated her words, verbatim. I told the teacher, “See, he can either look at you and not learn anything, or he can listen to you and learn it all.” It’s difficult for Damien to do both. If he is having to concentrate to listen, he has difficulty concentrating to listen.

